Rivers, babies, stuff like that…

I realised today that I have been atrocious at keeping this blog updated. My last post was well over a year ago. What else happened almost a year ago? Oh yeah, that’s right, I had a baby. A photo of the side of a red campervan (it's a converted LDV convoy), with a one year old baby looking out of the side window with a mischievous look on his face. The baby is blond and very cute, but I may be biased...

Why did no-one tell me how much work babies are? Oh, yeah, that’s right, everybody told me, I just didn’t listen.

In the last year I have cared 24/7 for a tiny, completely dependent human. Having a baby is like an earthquake in your life. I still can’t quite believe people everywhere do this all the time. Where are our medals?!

I’ve also walked down the River Tweed, with my partner Ross, and the baby. (Although, to be honest, I didn’t feel the baby pulled his weight.) I’ve organised two Science Days for Nottingham City Council. I’ve written three debate kits for I’m a Scientist. We’ve lived in Turkey for two months, and then travelled round the UK in a campervan for four months. No wonder I’m knackered.

Forgive this self-regarding post. But I wanted to put something up so that anyone who came across my blog could see what I’ve been up to. I hope you’re all well. I’m relieved to see that the UK public engagement world seems to have carried on fine without me…

Leave a Reply

